The Governing Board

The General Assembly, composed of the association’s members, is Public Eye's ruling body. The members of the Governing Board and the chairperson are elected by the General Assembly for a renewable term of 2 years. The maximum term of office is 12 years. Positions on the Governing Board are unpaid.

The Governing Board is the body that decides Public Eye's strategy. It is composed of a minimum of 9 members and a maximum of 13 members. Wherever possible, the board is formed with a representative balance of genders, ages, professional experience and linguistic regions. As such, it is ensured that French/Italian-speaking Switzerland and German-speaking Switzerland are each represented by at least four members. Each gender is also represented by at least four members. The current board was elected at the most recent general assembly on 30th July 2020.

From left to right: Elisabeth Chappuis (resigned), Pierrette Rohrbach, Christophe Siegenthaler, Claudia Frick, Alessia Jemetta, Thomas König, Zineb Benkhelifa and Res Peter. Missing on the picture: Aline Gavillet, Beata Hochstrasser, Yann Lenggenhager and Fred Sommer.


  • Pierrette Rohrbach, board member for the Fédération vaudoise de coopération (FEDEVACO), member of the Romandy Committee of the Swiss Observatory on the Rights of Asylum Seekers and Foreigners from 2007 to 2012, President of the Romandy Consumer Federation from 1998 to 2006. Member of the BD / Public Eye Governing Board since 2007, Chairwoman of Public Eye on a national level since 2012, member of the Committee for personnel matters.


  • Zineb Bekhelifa, BA in literature, assistant director of the Swiss association of stage performers (SBKV) and representative of the Mayor of the City of Zurich for the Equality of Persons with Disabilities. Joined the Governing Board in 2015, member of the Committee for personnel matters.
  • Christophe Siegenthaler, degree in political economics, diploma (DAS) in managing non-profit organisations (VMI), head of service at the Swiss Federal Office for Statistics. Joined the Governing Board in 2012, member of the financial commission.

Other Board Members

  • Claudia Frick, lawyer, trained in human rights, lawyer for the Vaud Protestant Social Centre since 2000. Joined the Governing Board in 2016.
  • Aline Gavillet, Bachelor in Social Work and Master of Advanced Studies in Social Action and Policies, HES-SO University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland, degree in sociology from the University of Strasbourg; social counsellor, programme on prevention and support in relation to consumption of psychotropic drugs during adolescence at Lausanne University Hospital (CHUV). Joined the Governing Board in 2020.
  • Beata Hochstrasser, BA in literature, trained in management and organisation and communications consultancy. Director of the Züriwerk Foundation (Zurich) since 2008. Joined the Governing Board in 2016.
  • Alessia Jemetta, nurse, member of the Berne regional group. Joined the Governing Board in 2018.
  • Thomas König, professor and doctor of natural sciences, teacher and chair of the working group on psychiatric neurophysiology of the psychiatry and psychotherapy clinic at Berne University. Joined the Governing Board in 2018.
  • Yann Lenggenhager, Bachelor of Arts from University of Neuchâtel, former ICRC delegate for the Middle East and North Africa, secondary school professor of history at numerous schools in the canton of Zurich, human rights activist (Lead Educator, Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Switzerland). Joined the Governing Board in 2020.
  • Res Peter, theologian, pastor of the reformed parish of Neumünster (Zurich), vice-dean of the parish chapter of Zurich. Joined the Governing Board in 2018.
  • Alfred Sommer, Masters degree in public administration, University of Lausanne. Executive Finance Manager at the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) until 2014. Joined the Governing Board in 2015, member of the financial commission.